Startup

How Taiga reached 18000+ users in 3 months, with zero marketing budget

taiga

This is my first attempt to connect the two interests of my life – open source software & start ups. Would love to know your views & counter views. 

Imagine you are an aspiring entrepreneur, you have an awesome idea, and a great plan to execute – what would be your greatest fear? Let me guess, “what if users don’t like the product, what if I fail against competition, what if I don’t make lots of money”. One solution to this, is positioning your product properly in the market, everything else follows.

I will take the example of Taiga – an open source project management tool, and try to explain how they managed to get 18000+ users in just 3 months of existence, that too without spending a single penny on marketing.

Even if you have an awesome product, getting the initial traction is very important. It is only after reaching a critical mass that you can expect strategies like word of mouth to work. Lets analyze various factors that helped Taiga:

• Initial traction: Even before they launched, Taiga created a positive anticipation among users, making sure the excitement was high at the time of launch. Finally when they launched, they were ranked first on hacker news. This was partly due to the great product they had and partly because of enthusiasm already built around the product. Key take away: Hustle as much you can, even before your product is launched. Anticipation of your product will surely set you on the path of initial traction.